Posted 2012/12/21

Winners of Reporters Without Borders 2012 Prize for Press Freedom announced.

On 19 December Mazen Darwish, the head of the Syrian Centre for Media and Freedom of Expression (SCM), and the Afghan daily newspaper 8Sobh were announced as the recipients of the 2012 Prize for Press Freedom. The award is presented every year, by Reporters Without Borders, Le Monde and TV5 Monde, to a journalist and a news media source anywhere in the world felt to 'have made a significant contribution to the defence and promotion of press freedom'.

Mazen Darwish received '2012 Journalist of the Year' for his 'courage and commitment to freedom of information'. Mazen is currently being held incommunicado and according to various sources has suffered torture since his arrest in February of this year. Reporters Without Borders in its press release reports that this 'staunch advocate of human rights and freedom of expression' has been arrested as 'a warning to journalists and all those who defend the right to information in Syria'.

The winner in the media category is '8Sobh' an Afghan publication. It received high praise from the Reporters Without Borders secretary-general Christophe Deloire ' who held the newspaper to be 'living evidence that freely-reported quality journalism can develop in the most difficult corners of the planet.'

Sanjar Sohail, editor and owner of the newspaper, explained what they hope to achieve with their work. Their vision is that thanks to 'consciousness-raising and to courageous, professional reporting' that they can help build a state that 'will become more responsible, more transparent and above all more democratic.'

To read the full press release about the award follow this link to Reporters Without Borders official website.